dupa

Author Topic: Opening the wrong thing  (Read 6901 times)

Padriag

• View Profile
    • http://www.bardicheart.com
Opening the wrong thing
« on: February 22, 2004, 02:09:05 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to all this but learning quickly.  I just encountered an odd problem with Hal.  I asked Hal to open Word and it correctly opened MS Word... however, it opened a document with it that I did not ask for.  In its own text box it said it is now running "document name" (Word).  At first I thought it was misunderstanding and trying to open the document by mistake.  So, I tried asking it to open another document by name... and it would not do so.  Anyone have any ideas what is going on here?

Sean

vonsmith

• View Profile
Opening the wrong thing
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2004, 07:02:39 pm »
Padriag,
Hal's links to starting programs are stored in the file "shortcut.dat" in Hal's main directory. Use notepad to open that file and find where the MS Word link is. It's just a guess, but see if that link points to MS Word with the document name after it. Another possibility is if the MS Word link in shortcut.dat points to a document shortcut. If Hal tries to start a document short cut then the associated program, MS Word in this case, would open it. Well, that's just a guess. Take a look.

=vonsmith=

Padriag

• View Profile
Opening the wrong thing
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2004, 08:16:15 pm »
Very good guess, that was exactly it.  I take it if I want to add a link to a document or some such, this would be the file to do it in?  I edited out the offending link (was to a manual for a game I no longer play) and added a shorter link to Microsoft Word in the form of MS Word.  I thought about just Word, but that might cause problems, yes?

vonsmith

• View Profile
Opening the wrong thing
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2004, 08:47:27 pm »
Padriag,