dupa

Author Topic: I'll show you mine if...  (Read 5012 times)

willy

• View Profile
    • http://www.dreamagic.com
I'll show you mine if...
« on: September 02, 2004, 11:22:53 am »
As the newest member of this forum, I think I should introduce myself more fully.

I have been working as a computer professional since 1960 (I am 68) when I got my undergraduate degree in math, psych and language at the U. of  Wisconsin.  My first well paying job was as a weapons designer for a defense contractor.  I have a patent still in use in so-called smart bombs, something about which I am NOT proud.  I quit in disgust during the Vietnam “conflict” when my work was destined to be used to kill real people.  I was on the Net in 1969, one month after its inception as ARPANET (at a research institute in Oregon).  In 1990, after seeing the movie 2001 for the umpteenth time, a friend asked me if I could write a program like HAL.  The true answer was that I did not know, but it was an interesting challenge.

So, I wrote a quick-and-dirty assembly language program to attempt to parse dates.  I was told that the parsing of (colloquial) dates is a generally poorly solved problem (easily verified even now) so I decided to start there.  I wanted to “understand” and respond to things like “What was the date last Tuesday?” or “What was the day of the week of my birth?” or even, “Give me the date of five days into the second week of the first month in the second year of the fifth decade of the fourth century of the second millennium.”

To get to my goal, I invented a notion called a “trigger”…sort of a generalization of a keyword.  A “trigger” is a well defined word or phrase that would cause the program to “do something”.   In the initial version, only date-words were triggers.  This first software was very encouraging so I kept on working on it, trying to generalize it to a more general HAL-like program.